Jump to:
2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021

Faxton St. Luke's Healthcare and St. Elizabeth Medical Center Form Mohawk Valley Health System

March 25, 2020 - New documents obtained by FOIL: MVHS Affiliation: Exhibit A and MVHS Affiliation: Exhibit B. Also see more on Utica Hospital Affiliations.

March 6, 2014 - Faxton St. Luke’s Healthcare (FSLH) and St. Elizabeth Medical Center (SEMC) officially announced their affiliation as the Mohawk Valley Health System (MVHS). In December 2013, the Public Health and Health Planning Council of New York State approved their affiliation proposal and the hospitals reached an agreement with the New York State Attorney General’s office. As of midnight on Tuesday, January 21, 2014, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) waiting period expired with no action by the FTC – allowing the transaction to proceed as planned once final state approval is received. The hospitals have received notification from the New York State Department of Health to move forward with the affiliation.

“This is an important and historic moment for our community,” noted the Honorable Norman Siegel, former chairman of the Board for SEMC and chairman of the Board for the new MVHS. “I am pleased that our two hospitals will be working together as one organization. It’s a tremendous testament to the vision of our Boards of Directors, hospital leadership and our medical staffs. Throughout this process, we have received such positive support from the community and recognition that we can do so much more for the families of the Mohawk Valley by working together.”

Mohawk Valley Health System is the parent organization. It will be governed by a new Board of Directors comprised of 18 members with equal members from the FSLH Board and the SEMC Board. Scott H. Perra, FACHE, is president/CEO of MVHS and will oversee the management team for the system.

“This has been nearly a three-year process that has, at times, been very complex,” stated Scott H. Perra, FACHE, president/CEO of MVHS. “I want to thank our boards, employees, medical staffs, volunteers and the community for their patience, understanding and incredible support. I also want to thank the Sisters of St. Francis of the Neumann Communities and the Syracuse Diocese for their support, as they have been instrumental in our success. And I also want to thank our government officials – local, state and federal. They understood our vision and were a tremendous resource to us as we went through this process.”

Consolidation and joint partnerships are not new for the organizations. Faxton Hospital and St. Luke’s-Memorial consolidated their services in 2000. Both SEMC and FSLH jointly sponsor the Mohawk Valley Heart Institute and have a collaborative agreement for the Central New York Diabetes Education Program and Palliative Care Consultation Services.

“I applaud the leadership of Faxton St. Luke’s Healthcare and St. Elizabeth Medical Center for their proactive approach to providing the best healthcare for their region,” commented Gary Fitzgerald, president of Iroquois Healthcare. “It is a challenging time for healthcare throughout the country with less reimbursement and more demands placed on hospitals. These types of collaborations, driven from within the community instead of by outside forces, are the ones that succeed. This affiliation will be significant for the communities of the Mohawk Valley.”

The two organizations employ more than 4,200 (FTE) employees and have a combined operating budget of $537 million.

The MVHS Board of Directors will consist of: Hon. Norman Siegel, chairman; Domenic Aiello, MD; Barbara Brodock; Catherine Cominsky; Joan Compson; Gregory Evans; Maria Gesualdo, DO; Todd Hutton, PhD; Andrew Kowalczyk III, Esq.; Gregory McLean; Scott H. Perra, president/CEO; John Sperling, MD, medical staff president (FSLH); Stephen Sweet; Richard Tantillo; Symeon Tsoupelis; Mark Warfel, DO, medical staff president (SEMC); Bonnie Woods; Eric Yoss, MD; and Richard Zweifel.

The MVHS administrative team will be comprised of the following individuals and positions:
Scott H. Perra, FACHE - President/CEO; Louis Aiello - Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer; Albert D’Accurzio, MD - Senior Vice President, Chief Medical Officer - SEMC and Chief Quality Officer; Patricia Roach, MS, RN, NEA-BC - Senior Vice President, Chief Nursing Officer; Anthony Scibelli, MS, MBA - Senior Vice President, Human Resources, Post Acute and Support Services; Robert C. Scholefield, RN, MS - Senior Vice President, Operations; Michael F. Trevisani, MD, MBA - Vice President, Chief Medical Officer - FSLH & Physician Group; Debra Altdoerffer - Vice President, Communications and Development; Thomas Soja, Esq. - Vice President, Legal Counsel and Compliance; and Roger McReynolds - Vice President, Performance Excellence.

Two other positions are currently vacant: Vice President, Chief Information Officer and Director of Mission Services.

You can help, please join us on Facebook #NoHospitalDowntown. Also consider adding your voice to Hundreds of People Saying, "No Hospital Downtown". Get to know BUD, that's the future of the Columbia Lafayette Neighborhood!

No Studies, No Reports, thus we remain #NoHospitalDowntown