Members of the New York State Public Health & Health Planning Council

Members are shown below, please note there are two vacant seats. Review the PHHPC Council Membership page.

This is the group that will be entrusted with reviewing MVHS's request for a new hospital. They are responsible for looking at the planning and financing of the hospital's concept. These individuals must be shown the very bad thinking behind moving our regional hospital off a green hilltop and 64-acres; 1.7 miles into a proposed 25- 34 acres within Downtown Utica's small Central Business District.


[1] Jeffrey A. Kraut, is Senior Vice President Strategy at North Shore Long Island Jewish Health System.

Read Jeffrey Kraut Designated as Chair of State Public Health and Health Planning Council Mr Kraut is with a huge hospital system centered around New York City Northwell Health Fact Sheet (PDF).

Jeffrey A. Kraut, Chairman
NYS Public Health & Health Planning Council


[2] Jo Ivey Boufford, M.D. is President of New York Academy of Medicine

[3] Judy L. Baumgartner, President
Visiting Nursing Association of Western New York Inc
2100 Wehrle Drive
Williamsville, NY 14221
Phone: (716) 630-8000

[4] John D. Bennett Jr., M.D., F.A.C.C., F.A.C.P. President and Chief Executive Officer, Capital District Physician’s Health Plan

[5] Howard S. Berliner, SC.D. is Director of Health Policy at Service Employees International Union

[6] Lawrence S. Brown, Jr., M.D., M.P.H., FASAM, of START Treatment & Recovery Center Inc

[7] Kathleen Carver Cheney, Esq, is a Partner at Novack Burnbaum Crystal, LLP

[8] Angel Alfonso Gutierrez, M.D.

[9] Thomas Holt President & CEO at Lutheran Social Service Group Inc

[10] Gary Kalkut, M.D. is Senior Vice President, Network Integration & Associate Chief Clinical Officer, at NYU Langone Medical Center

[11] Scott P. La Rue, MBA, RD President and Chief Executive Officer ArchCare (Catholic Health System), New York

[12] Harvey Lawrence President and Chief Executive Officer Brownsville Multi-Service Family Health Center

[13] Mr Glenn Martin, M.D. is Associate Dean of Research and Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at Mount Sinai School of Medicine

[14] Ellen L. Rautenberg, M.H.S.

[15] Peter G. Robinson is Vice President & Chief Operating Officer at University of Rochester

[16] John Rugge, M.D. Chief Executive Officer Hudson Headwaters Health Network

[17] Nilda I. Soto, MS Ed Assistant Dean, Office of Diversity Enhancement Albert Einstein College of Medicine

[18] Theodore Strange, M.D.

[19] Anderson Torres, Ph.D., LCSW-R, is CEO of R.A.I.N. Inc

[20] Patsy Yang, Dr.P.H. is Director of Health Policy in the Office of the Mayor of the City of New York

[21] Kevin Darnell Watkins, M.D., M.P.H. is acting Public Health Director at Cattaraugus County Health Department

Dr Kevin Darnell Watkins, MD, MPH
Cattaraugus County Health Department
1 Leo Moss Drive
Olean, NY 14760
Call: +1(800)251-2584

[22] Dr. Howard Zucker, is an Ex-Officio and also Commissioner of Health for New York State Department of Health

Let's recommend two people who understand that healthcare should never-ever become tangled-up with economic development! As we've already lost 2-3 years, since the governor's offer of $300 million for Utica-area healthcare was turned into an awful and ill-conceived urban renewal mess.

[23] Vacant

[24] Vacant

No Studies, No Reports, thus we remain #NoHospitalDowntown